The ANKOAY the Osprey of Madagascar.

Meet the Osprey of Madagascar, one of the rarest Raptors in the world.

The Malagasy heavens are frequent by around 294 bird species, whose 107 are endemic, which is not reflected in any other country in the world. 30 species are globally threatened, 6 have been introduced by humans. Nearly half of the birds listed in Madagascar are endemic, What is remarkable given the narrowness of the channel of Mozambique to these vertebrae provided with means of transport, effective. In a fairly general way, the garlicky gent is much less represented in Madagascar in tropical Africa.

Emblematic bird of the Anjajavy Peninsula, the Osprey Malagasy, also called Ankoay, is a bird of prey endemic to the coastal strip of the North-West of Madagascar.

The Osprey, also called Eagle of Madagascar (Haliaeetus vociferoides) is one of the rarest Raptors in the world. Medium size, It is characterized by its long and rounded wings and feathers in part white on the head, the neck and chest. Attending the edge of lakes and streams surrounded by forest, He moved also near large trees to better monitor his hunting territory. The Ankoay leaves itself observe in the morning when it is perched on the trees after chasing.

The last census reported less 200 breeding pairs remaining. Fortunately for Madagascar, There are 6 to 8 Ankoay couples, especially between Anjajavy and Moramba. Others are visible in highly touristic sites, as on the Mitsio archipelago, or in the Tsingy of Bekopaka and Tsarabanjina. And Majunga, We are fortunate to have 3 to the Park Reniala (Facebook universe Reniala in Majunga https://web.facebook.com/Lunivers-Reniala-%C3%A0-Majunga-463227480460871/?fref=ts). Their page on Trip Advisor https://www.tripadvisor.fr/Attraction_Review-g303985-d4832271-Reviews-Eco_Parc_Reniala-Mahajanga_Mahajanga_Province.html

In order to preserve these pairs of sea eagles, the hotel Anjajavy Lodge has implemented an extensive conservation project, focused particularly on the protection of the great forest of Anjavavy, scope on a humid area of 300ha. The hotel also plans to contribute to the protection of a larger adjacent marine area, along the West Coast, to the site near the Bay of Moramba, where two or three pairs of Eagles fisherman are present.

With its 294 bird species, whose 107 are endemic, Madagascar is the paradise of ornithologists and bird lovers. Go to any national park to observe and hear them…

by Hotel * Restaurant gourmand coconut Lodge Majunga.

http://www.reservation-hotelcocolodge.com/

 

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

L’ANKOAY l’aigle pêcheur de Madagascar.

Faites connaissance avec l’aigle pêcheur de Madagascar, un des rapaces les plus rares au monde.

Les cieux malgaches sont fréquentés par près de 294 espèces d’oiseaux, dont 107 sont endémiques, ce qui ne se retrouve dans aucun autre pays du monde. 30 espèces sont globalement menacées, 6 ont été introduites par l’homme. Près de la moitié des oiseaux répertoriés à Madagascar sont endémiques, ce qui est remarquable compte tenu de la faible largeur du canal du Mozambique pour ces vertébrés pourvus de moyens de déplacement efficaces. D’une manière assez générale, la gent aillée est beaucoup moins représentée à Madagascar qu’en Afrique tropicale.

Oiseau emblématique de la presqu’île d’Anjajavy, l’aigle pêcheur Malagasy, appelé aussi Ankoay, est un oiseau de proie endémique de la bande côtière du nord-ouest de Madagascar.

L’aigle pêcheur, aussi appelé pygargue de Madagascar (Haliaeetus vociferoides) est l’un des rapaces les plus rares au monde. De taille moyenne, il se caractérise par ses ailes longues et arrondies et ses plumes en partie blanches sur la tête, le cou et la poitrine. Fréquentant les abords de lacs et de cours d’eau entourés de forêts, il s’installe également près des grands arbres pour mieux surveiller son territoire de chasse. L’Ankoay se laisse observer en fin de matinée lorsqu’il est perché sur les arbres après avoir chassé.

Les derniers recensements font état de moins de 200 couples reproducteurs restants. Heureusement pour Madagascar, il existe 6 à 8 couples d’Ankoay, notamment entre Anjajavy et Moramba. Les autres sont visibles dans des sites hautement touristiques, comme sur l’archipel Mitsio, ou à Tsarabanjina et dans les Tsingy de Bekopaka. Et à Majunga, nous avons la chance d’en avoir 3 au Parc Reniala (sur Facebook L’univers Reniala à Majunga https://web.facebook.com/Lunivers-Reniala-%C3%A0-Majunga-463227480460871/?fref=ts). Leur page sur Trip Advisor https://www.tripadvisor.fr/Attraction_Review-g303985-d4832271-Reviews-Eco_Parc_Reniala-Mahajanga_Mahajanga_Province.html

Afin de préserver ces couples d’aigles pêcheurs, l’établissement hôtelier Anjajavy Lodge a mis en place un vaste projet de conservation, axé notamment sur la protection de la grande forêt d’Anjavavy, étendue sur une zone humide de 300ha. L’hôtel envisage aussi de contribuer à la protection d’une plus vaste zone marine adjacente, le long de la côte ouest, jusqu’au site proche de la baie de Moramba, où deux à trois couples d’aigles pêcheur sont présents.

Avec ses 294 espèces d’oiseaux, dont 107 sont endémiques, Madagascar est le paradis des ornithologues et des amateurs d’oiseaux. Rendez-vous dans n’importe quel parc national pour les observer et les entendre…

by Hôtel*** Restaurant gourmand Coco Lodge Majunga.

http://www.reservation-hotelcocolodge.com/

 

 

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse email ne sera pas publiée.Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>