Whaling ecotourism develops to Mahajanga/Boeny

The project "Valorization of the migration of humpback whales along the Malagasy coasts during the austral winter", funded by the European Union and the IOC, theAssociation Cetamada has implemented actions related to whaling ecotourism sustainable and responsible, environmental education in schools, community development (crafts) as well as participatory science on marine mammals on 4 action sites, including Mahajanga.

A local team in Mahajanga made up of a focal point, scientific trainee and a community intern has been implemented since October 2017 and worked on the project for a year.

Local guides, fishermen, artisans and schools were the main beneficiaries of the project.
The arrival of the Cetamada-IOC to Mahajanga project allows to develop the activity safaris whales adopting a responsible and sustainable marine mammal observation. The popularization of knowledge about humpback whales, the awareness and accountability of users of the sea in respect of the code of conduct are also needed.

On the community development component, 9 artisans Majungais (sculpture courses, basketry, cutting and sewing and art in a bottle of sand) benefited from the support of the project by developing products in conjunction with the whales and the sea. The Regional Directorate of Culture, the promotion of crafts and the preservation of heritage has certified these craftsmen after their training.

This win-win partnership will be used as leverage to local sustainable economic development and the improvement of the living conditions of local communities of the areas frequented by humpback whales.

Reminder, Cetamada is a Malagasy law non-profit association founded in may 2009. The goal is the preservation of the populations of marine mammals and their habitat in Madagascar. By involving local people in its actions, the association is committed to a sustainable development approach. Cetamada supports the implementation of economic activities around marine mammals that generate direct income for communities.

L'écotourisme baleinier se développe à Mahajanga/Boeny
Whaling ecotourism develops to Mahajanga/Boeny by Hotel * Restaurant gourmet coconut Lodge Majunga

Based on the island of Sainte Marie, to the northeast of Madagascar, the association acts on the whole Malagasy territory, including Fort Dauphin, Mahambo, Mahajanga, Maroantsetra, Nosy Be and Toliara.

The 4 areas of action :
Management and promotion of a sustainable ecotourism
Education and awareness of the environment and marine heritage
The development of community activities
Scientific research

The coming of humpback whales contributes to an increase in tourism on the coast of Madagascar. Cetamada, supported by its partners, takes actions to develop marine tourism sustainable and responsible.
As part of responsible for observation of marine mammals in their natural environment association Cetamada partners recruited for the season 2018 expert guides so-called eco voluntary, trained by Cetamada with the Ministry of tourism.
Eco volunteering helps young people, Malagasy and foreign, to participate in a unique experience in Madagascar during the season of humpback whales. For some, It is a child's dream, for others, eco-volunteering allows you to gain a first professional experience in the world of marine mammals and conservation of the environment. But for all these volunteers, working in contact with humpback whales remains the top motivations.

By Hotel * Restaurant gourmand coconut Lodge Majunga

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

L’écotourisme baleinier se développe à Mahajanga/Boeny

Dans le cadre du projet « Valorisation de la migration des baleines à bosse le long des côtes malgaches pendant l’hiver austral », financé par l’Union Européenne et la COI, l’association Cétamada a mis en place des actions liées à l’écotourisme baleinier durable et responsable, l’éducation environnementale auprès des établissements scolaires, le développement communautaire (artisanat) ainsi que la science participative sur les mammifères marins sur 4 sites d’action, dont Mahajanga.

Une équipe locale à Mahajanga composée d’un point focal, d’un stagiaire scientifique et d’une stagiaire communautaire a été mise en place depuis octobre 2017 et a travaillé sur le projet pendant un an.

Guides locaux, pêcheurs, artisans et établissements scolaires ont été les principaux bénéficiaires du projet.
L’arrivée du projet Cétamada-COI à Mahajanga permet ainsi d’y développer l’activité safaris baleines adoptant une observation responsable et durable des mammifères marins. La vulgarisation de la connaissance sur les baleines à bosse, la sensibilisation de la population et la responsabilisation des usagers de la mer au respect du code de bonne conduite sont également de mise.

Sur le volet développement communautaire, 9 artisans Majungais (filières sculpture, vannerie, coupe et couture et art en bouteille de sable) ont pu bénéficier de l’appui du projet en développant des produits en liaison avec les baleines et la mer. La Direction Régionale de la Culture, de la Promotion de l’Artisanat et de la Sauvegarde du Patrimoine a certifié ces artisans après leur formation.

Ce partenariat gagnant-gagnant aura servi de levier au développement économique durable local et à l’amélioration des conditions de vie des communautés locales riveraines des zones fréquentées par les baleines à bosse.

Pour rappel, Cétamada est une association de droit malgache à but non lucratif fondée en mai 2009. L’objectif est la préservation des populations de mammifères marins et de leur habitat à Madagascar. En impliquant les populations locales dans ses actions, l’association s’engage dans une démarche de développement durable. Cétamada soutient la mise en place d’activités économiques autour des mammifères marins qui génèrent des revenus directes pour les communautés.

L'écotourisme baleinier se développe à Mahajanga/Boeny
L’écotourisme baleinier se développe à Mahajanga/Boeny by Hôtel*** Restaurant gourmand Coco Lodge Majunga

Basée sur l’île Sainte Marie, au Nord-Est de Madagascar, l’association agit sur l’ensemble du territoire malgache, notamment Fort Dauphin, Mahambo, Mahajanga, Maroantsetra, Nosy Be et Tuléar.

Les 4 volets d’action :
L’encadrement et la promotion d’un écotourisme durable
L’éducation et la sensibilisation à l’environnement et au patrimoine marin
Le développement d’activités communautaires
La recherche scientifique

La venue des baleines à bosse contribue à une hausse de la fréquentation touristique sur les côtes de Madagascar. Cétamada, soutenue par ses partenaires, mène des actions pour développer un tourisme marin durable et responsable.
Dans le cadre de l’observation responsable des mammifères marins dans leur milieu naturel les partenaires de l’association Cétamada ont recruté pour la saison 2018 des guides spécialisés dits éco volontaires, formés par Cétamada avec le Ministère du Tourisme.
L’éco volontariat permet à des jeunes, Malgaches et étrangers, de participer à une expérience unique à Madagascar pendant la saison des baleines à bosse. Pour certains, il s’agit d’un rêve d’enfant, pour d’autres, l’éco volontariat permet d’acquérir une première expérience professionnelle dans l’univers des mammifères marins et de la conservation de l’environnement.  Mais pour tous ces bénévoles, travailler au contact des baleines à bosse reste la première des motivations.

By Hôtel*** Restaurant gourmand Coco Lodge Majunga

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse email ne sera pas publiée.Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>