Every last Friday in October, World Lemur Day is celebrated around the world. The celebration will be held in the capital Antananarivo in Madagascar the 10 and 11 November with the program of awareness on the protection of the lemurs, conferences debates, ….

MADAGASCAR World Lemur Day. Madagascar is one of thousands of unique species in the world, about 100 lemurs in their natural habitat.

To mark the occasion, mobilization is general in Madagascar and the regions are not left behind under the theme chosen this year : « Lemurs : national heritage, friends to protect ». In Madagascar, the day is celebrated each year with a festival of the lemurs at the initiative of the Group of study and research on Primates. The festival will also be celebrated around the world in late October and early November, across America, Europe and Asia, Japan to Canada, through the United States, Germany and Hungary. You can check out here planned celebrations.

The city of Andapa, in the North East of the Big Island organizes a large event that will particularly honour one of the country's emblematic species : The silky Propitheque. The event is supported by several organizations committed to the protection of lemurs, like the Wildlife Conservation Society, Duke Lemur Center, Madagascar National Parks and Lemur Conservation Foundation. The lemur festival in the city of Toliara with the theme "Let the lemurs in freedom" is organized on the initiative of WWF and the Regional Environment Directorate, Ecology and forestry in order to respect the right of the lemurs to live in freedom in their natural habitat. In keeping with the theme «» Lemurs : national heritage, friends to protect », WWF incites the population to protect the forest, lemurs Habitat, through actions like the use of homes improved (fatana mitsitsy) that save the wood, sustainable management of forests by the villagers themselves. Join the celebration by sharing your photos and videos on social networks that support the protection of these unique animals.
As soon as the 25 and 26 October, lemur information sessions were held at schools in the city of Toliara. Total, 500 students took part in the. The 27 October, a great carnival of lemurs crossed the city, animated by the drums of the Bloco Malagasy NGO Bel future percussion group.
The festival at Toliara aims to make known to the public the importance of protecting these iconic primates of Madagascar, as well as to protect their habitat, including the Maki (Lemur catta) and the sifaka (Propithecus verreauxi) who live in the forest dry region of Toliara. This lemur is easily recognizable by its dense coat, long and silky, creamy white is one of the three rarest lemurs in Madagascar, with the Propithèque de Perrier and the great hapalemur. To observe it, you have to explore three reserves in northeastern Madagascar, namely Marojejy National Park, Anjanaharibe South Special Reserve and Makira Natural Park. Because of its rarity, this species is the subject of significant conservation programs, related to the preservation or restoration of its natural habitat as well as the environmental education of the basic communities. Majunga will also honor this MADAGASCAR World lemur day

Endangered animals
Two emblematic lemurs of Madagascar are particularly endangered : ringed tailed lemur (Lemur catta) or Maki, in the South of Madagascar, or even the silky wounded, Propithecus candidus in the forests of the Highlands of Northern Madagascar.

Ringed tailed lemur :
It is easily recognizable thanks to its long ringed tail lemur. It lives mainly in the forest of thorn in the South and in the dry forest of Western Madagascar as well as in the mountains of Andringitra. Scientists estimate that the lemurs to tail ringed Madagascar population declined from 50% en 36 years. The reasons for this decrease are the continued degradation of their habitat and intensive poaching. Thus, It is rated "endangered" on the IUCN Red list.

Silky wounded : It is one of the lemurs most highly endangered in Madagascar. He lives in the forests of high altitude in the North of Madagascar. There are about 250 adult individuals to date and that population tends to decline because of the massive destruction of its natural habitat and hunting. It is therefore classified as "critically endangered".

Coco Lodge Majunga, it's also a Hotel *., one Gourmet restaurant, one Four-wheel-drive renter with guide driver and Event organizer (conferences, seminars, workshops, lunches/dinners with themes, wedding, anniversary, boy-girl stag, …). For your holidays or business trips, the entire coco Lodge team is delighted to meet your expectations and meet your needs for an unforgettable stay in the city of Majunga. Coco Lodge TO organises tours of Majunga and its surroundings and many more, such as the Anjohibe Caves, Ankarafantsika National Park, Sacred Lake, Red Circus, the beaches, the Antrema reserve, the lighthouse of Katsepy, Papamena, The Poseidon, Mahavavy Kinkony Complex, Namoroka tsingys, …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

Chaque dernier vendredi du mois d’octobre la Journée Mondiale des lémuriens est célébrée dans le monde entier. A Madagascar la célébration aura lieu dans la capitale Antananarivo les 10 et 11 novembre avec au programme des sensibilisations sur la protection des lémuriens, des conférences débats, ….

MADAGASCAR Journée mondiale des lémuriens. Madagascar compte parmi ses milliers d’espèces uniques au monde, une centaine de lémuriens évoluant dans leur habitat naturel.

Pour marquer le coup, la mobilisation est générale à Madagascar et les régions ne sont pas en reste sous le thème retenu cette année : « Les lémuriens : patrimoine national, amis à protéger ». À Madagascar, la journée se célèbre chaque année avec un festival des lémuriens à l’initiative du Groupe d’Étude et de Recherche sur les Primates. Le festival sera aussi célébré dans le monde entier à la fin du mois d’octobre et en début novembre, à travers l’Amérique, l’Europe et l’Asie, du Japon au Canada, en passant par les Etats Unis, l’Allemagne et la Hongrie. Vous pouvez consulter ici les célébrations prévues.

La ville d’Andapa, dans le Nord Est de la Grande île organise une grande manifestation qui mettra particulièrement à l’honneur l’une des espèces emblématiques du pays : le Propithèque soyeux. L’événement est soutenu par plusieurs organisations engagées dans la protection des lémuriens, à l’instar du Wildlife Conservation Society, Duke Lemur Center, Madagascar National Parks et Lemur Conservation Foundation. Le festival des lémuriens dans la ville de Toliara avec le thème « Laissez les lémuriens en liberté » est organisé à l’initiative de WWF et de la Direction Régionale de l’Environnement, de l’Écologie et des Forêts afin de faire respecter le droit des lémuriens à vivre en liberté dans leur habitat naturel. En accord avec le thème « Lémuriens : patrimoine national, amis à protéger », WWF incite la population à la protection de la forêt, habitat des lémuriens, à travers des actions comme l’utilisation de foyers améliorés (fatana mitsitsy) qui économisent le bois, et la gestion durable des forêts par les villageois eux-mêmes. Rejoignez cette célébration en partageant vos photos et vidéos sur les réseaux sociaux qui soutiennent la protection de ces animaux uniques.
Dès les 25 et 26 octobre, des séances d’information sur les lémuriens ont eu lieu dans des établissements scolaires de la ville de Toliara. Au total, 500 élèves y ont pris part. Le 27 octobre, un grand carnaval des lémuriens a traversé la ville, animé par les tambours du groupe de percussion Bloco Malagasy de l’ONG Bel Avenir.
Le festival à Toliara vise à faire connaître à la population l’importance de protéger ces primates emblématiques de Madagascar, ainsi que de protéger leur habitat, notamment les Maki (Lemur catta) et les sifaka (Propithecus verreauxi) qui vivent dans la forêt sèche de la région de Toliara. Ce lémurien facilement reconnaissable grâce à son pelage dense, long et soyeux, de couleur blanc crème est l’un des trois plus rares lémuriens de Madagascar, avec le Propithèque de Perrier et le grand hapalémur. Pour l’observer, il faut explorer trois réserves du nord-est de Madagascar, à savoir le Parc National Marojejy, la Réserve Spéciale d’Anjanaharibe-Sud et le Parc Naturel Makira. A cause de sa rareté, cette espèce fait l’objet d’importants programmes de conservation, liés notamment à la préservation ou la restauration de son habitat naturel ainsi qu’à l’éducation environnementale des communautés de base. Majunga honorera aussi ce MADAGASCAR World lemur day

Des animaux en danger
Deux lémuriens emblématiques de Madagascar sont particulièrement menacés : le lémurien à queue annelée (Lemur catta) ou Maki, dans le sud de Madagascar, ou encore le Propithèque soyeux, Propithecus candidus dans les forêts des hautes terres du nord de Madagascar.
 
Lémurien à queue annelée :
C’est le lémurien le plus facilement reconnaissable grâce à sa longue queue annelée. Il vit principalement dans la forêt d’épineux du sud et dans la forêt sèche de l’ouest de Madagascar ainsi que dans les massifs de l’Andringitra. Les scientifiques estiment que la population des lémuriens à queue annelés de Madagascar a diminué de 50% en 36 ans. Les raisons de cette diminution sont la dégradation continue de leur habitat et le braconnage intensif. Ainsi, il est classé « en danger » dans la liste rouge de l’UICN.

Propithèque soyeux : C’est l’un des lémuriens les plus hautement en danger à Madagascar. Il vit dans les forêts de haute altitude du nord de Madagascar. On dénombre environ 250 individus adultes à ce jour et cette population tend à baisser à cause de la destruction massive de son habitat naturel et la chasse. Il est donc classé « en danger critique d’extinction ».

Coco Lodge Majungac’est aussi un Hôtel***, un Restaurant gourmand, un Loueur de 4×4 avec chauffeur guide et Organisateur d’événements (conférences, séminaires, ateliers, déjeuners/dîners à thèmes, mariage, anniversaire, enterrement de vie de jeune fille/garçon, …). Pour vos vacances ou voyages d’affaires, toute l’équipe de l’Hôtel*** Coco Lodge est ravie de répondre à vos attentes et de satisfaire vos besoins pour un séjour inoubliable dans la ville de Majunga. Coco Lodge TO organise des circuits sur Majunga et ses alentours et bien d’autres encore, tel que les Grottes d’Anjohibe, le Parc National Ankarafantsika, le Lac Sacré, le Cirque Rouge, les plages, la réserve d’Antrema, le phare de Katsepy, Papamena, Le Poséidon, le complexe Mahavavy Kinkony, les tsingys de Namoroka, …

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse email ne sera pas publiée.Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>