Madagascar arts exposed to the quai Branly Museum in Paris

First major exhibition dedicated to the Malagasy since creation 1946, "Madagascar.", the big island arts", held at the Museum of the quay Branly - Jacques Chirac until ’ on 1 January 2019, Guest at s ’ interview on l. ’ emergence of ’ an original culture according to multiple hybridization.

It is the first major exhibition on the arts of Madagascar. Organized in collaboration with the Metropolitan Museum in New York and the Museum of art and archaeology of the University of Antananarivo, the exhibition of the Museum of the Branly Quay shows beauty, the subtlety, the specificity and diversity of these arts : fabrics, pearls, paintings, architecture, sculptures, basketry, photographs... And she answers the question whether Malagasy artworks are affected by the issue of the restitution of works of art in Africa.
With Commissioner Aurélien Gaborit, Head of collections Africa at the quai Branly Museum and head of the Pavilion of the Sessions at the Museum of the Louvre, Stéphane Martin, President of the Museum of the quay Branly and Pierrot Men, Malagasy photographer.

« These works, tables, watercolors, designs from the graphical Fund of the Museum, inaugurated in 2006 », explains Sarah Ligner, head heritage unit historical globalization and contemporary of school and curator of the exhibition.

Madagascar arts exposed to the quai Branly Museum in Paris
Madagascar arts exposed to the quai Branly Museum in Paris by Hotel * Restaurant gourmet coconut Lodge Majunga

A little-known collection that began to form at the international colonial exhibition in Paris in 1931 prior to joining the Museum of the Colonies, then one of the overseas France. « Under the leadership of André Malraux, It then became the Museum of African and Oceanian Arts, installed Golden Gate in Paris, and closed in 2003. Works joined the quai Branly Museum, inaugurated in 2006 », Adds the Commissioner. Some designs also from the Museum of man..

ABOUT THE EXHIBITION

Located off the East African coast, caressed by the Indian Ocean, the island of Madagascar is a continent in miniature. An exceptional position, which explains a diversity – natural, Linguistics, cultural – unique in the world. Long before the arrival of Europeans in 1500, This fragment of Earth has been an extraordinary melting pot according to the travel and African migration, Persians, Arab, Indian and South Asian.

These hybridization, essential to the understanding of Malagasy culture, the show chooses to reveal through the artistic creations of the island, each placed in its context and his era. An art unknown, that is reflected in the daily lives of its inhabitants, in architecture, furniture or personal items (cases, headgear or jewelry) design clean. And who wins in refinement, When it relates to the sacred and the world of the dead, as evidenced by some parts used in funeral rituals, subtle aesthetics, that they are woven of silk (textiles) or carved in wood (Poles, sculptures) or composite (amulets).

Madagascar

It is an adjective that comes up frequently when a naturalist talk about Madagascar : "endemic".. The dictionary Larousse Specifies the term : "Said of a living species whose presence in its natural state is limited to a particular region". No wonder, then, that the great exhibition of Madagascar, Arts of the big island, proposed by the Museum of the quay Branly - Jacques Chirac (Paris) until 1 January 2019 opens with a wink to animals-symbols found nowhere else : lemurs.

Yet, in terms of human achievements, the term "endemic" might be confusing so much here outside influences were shaping the Malagasy creation. "It will be understood., the art of Madagascar comes to plural, and it is welcome that the exhibition réinscrive him in the historical depth of the island, written Stéphane Martin, the president of the Museum. It is the wealth of a crossroads space gives to apprehend Madagascar, which can be said, echoing Aimé Césaire for which "an island is always widow of a continent.", first it took this island that marries the world in order to become itself. »

Cabinet of curiosities

Rather school invoice, the exhibition proposed by the Commissioner Aurélien Gaborit has the defects of his qualities. With the ambition to stir everything or almost, It offers poetic enjoyment of the cabinets of curiosities but sometimes takes the risk of flying over some key elements of Malagasy culture. It would be a pity to snub his pleasure, for a simple reason.

Since ethnography of Madagascar, exhibition at the Museum of man in 1946, No panorama of great magnitude had been devoted to the arts of the big island.

The living world, World of the dead

Aurélien Gaborit chose a pedagogical approach, working as an introduction to worlds complex, each, could themselves give rise to future exhibitions. The visitor begins by discovering "Madagascar in space and time" (first part), then he got acquainted with 'the world of the living. " (second part) before you tap on "the relationship between the invisible and parallel worlds.", and the world of the dead. " (third part). All along are reflected different influences received and assimilated by the populations of the island.

THE ORIGINAL COMPANIES AND ORGANIZED INTO HIERARCHICAL KINGDOMS

Originally, of course, human contacts and the movement of populations of the closest regions, Africa, the Arabian peninsula, the India and Southeast Asia (Austronesie). Contributions are varied, Austronesian peoples carry with them the rice, Yam and coconut between the fifth and the eighth century while African people disembark with their ZeBu in the 10th century. "Rice production and animal husbandry have substantially changed the landscape of Madagascar.", explains the Commissioner. But the landscape is not the only one to be changed. A rich cultural mix and exchanges continued through port cities opened on the Indian Ocean currents give rise to original Companies, organized into hierarchical kingdoms.

There are no endemic culture and it's probably in the exploration of this interweaving of influences, of assimilations, releases, transformations through the centuries and exchanges, that is the main point of this introductory exhibit. It will take for others, to go deeper into the mystery of creation, to dissect the cultural resistance to the colonial yoke and the maintenance of traditional forms of the sacred in the face of islam, to Christianity, or even to Hinduism.

by Hotel * Restaurant gourmand coconut Lodge Majunga

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

Les arts de Madagascar exposés au Musée du quai Branly à Paris

Première grande exposition consacrée à la création malgache depuis 1946, « Madagascar, arts de la Grande Île », qui se tient au musée du quai Branly – Jacques Chirac jusqu’au 1er janvier 2019, invite à s’interroger sur l’émergence d’une culture originale au gré de multiples métissages.

C’est la première grande exposition sur les arts de Madagascar. Organisée en collaboration avec le Metropolitan Museum à New York et celui du Musée d’art et d’archéologie de l’université d’Antananarivo, l’exposition du musée du Quai Branly montre la beauté, la subtilité, la spécificité et la diversité de ces arts : tissus, perles, peintures, architecture, sculptures, vanneries, photographies… Et elle répond à la question si des œuvres d’art malgaches sont concernées par la question de la restitution d’œuvres d’art à l’Afrique.
Avec le commissaire Aurélien Gaborit, responsable de collections Afrique au musée du quai Branly et responsable du Pavillon des Sessions au Musée du Louvre, Stéphane Martin, président du Musée du Quai Branly et Pierrot Men, photographe malgache.

« Ces œuvres, tableaux, aquarelles, dessins proviennent du fonds graphique du musée, inauguré en 2006 », explique Sarah Ligner, responsable de l’unité patrimoniale Mondialisation historique et contemporaine de l’établissement et commissaire de l’exposition.

Les arts de Madagascar exposés au Musée du quai Branly à Paris
Les arts de Madagascar exposés au Musée du quai Branly à Paris by Hôtel*** Restaurant gourmand Coco Lodge Majunga

Une collection méconnue qui a commencé à se constituer lors de l’Exposition coloniale internationale de Paris en 1931 avant de rejoindre le musée des Colonies, puis celui de la France d’Outre-Mer. « Sous l’impulsion d’André Malraux, celui-ci est ensuite devenu le musée des Arts africains et océaniens, installé Porte Dorée à Paris et fermé en 2003. Les œuvres ont alors rejoint le musée du quai Branly, inauguré en 2006 », ajoute la commissaire. Certains dessins proviennent aussi du musée de l’Homme.

À PROPOS DE L’EXPOSITION

Située au large des côtes est-africaines, caressée par l’Océan indien, l’île de Madagascar est un continent en miniature. Une position exceptionnelle, qui explique une diversité – naturelle, linguistique, culturelle – unique au monde. Bien avant l’arrivée des Européens en 1500, ce fragment de terre a constitué un melting-pot extraordinaire au gré des voyages et migrations africaines, perses, arabes, indiennes et sud-asiatiques.

Ces métissages, indispensables à la compréhension de la culture malgache, l’exposition choisit de les révéler à travers les créations artistiques de l’île, chacune replacée dans son contexte et son époque. Un art méconnu, qui transparaît dans le quotidien de ses habitants, dans l’architecture, le mobilier ou les objets personnels (étuis, coiffes ou bijoux) au design épuré. Et qui gagne en raffinement, lorsqu’il a trait au sacré et au monde des défunts, comme en témoignent certaines pièces utilisées dans les cérémonies rituelles funéraires, à l’esthétique subtile, qu’elles soient tissées de soie (textiles) ou sculptées dans le bois (poteaux, sculptures) ou composites (amulettes).

Madagascar

Il est un adjectif qui revient fréquemment quand un naturaliste vous parle de Madagascar : « endémique ». Le dictionnaire Larousse précise le terme : « Se dit d’une espèce vivante dont la présence à l’état naturel est limitée à une région donnée ». Rien d’étonnant, alors, à ce que la grande exposition Madagascar, Arts de la Grande Île proposée par le musée du quai Branly – Jacques Chirac (Paris) jusqu’au 1er janvier 2019 s’ouvre sur un clin d’œil à des animaux-symboles que l’on ne trouve nulle part ailleurs : les lémuriens.

Pourtant, en matière de réalisations humaines, le terme « endémique » pourrait prêter à confusion tant ici les influences extérieures ont été nombreuses à façonner la création malgache. « On l’aura compris, l’art de Madagascar se décline au pluriel, et il est bienvenu que l’exposition le réinscrive dans la profondeur historique de l’île, écrit Stéphane Martin, le président du musée. Car c’est bien la richesse d’un espace carrefour que donne à appréhender Madagascar, dont on peut dire, en écho à Aimé Césaire pour qui « une île est toujours veuve d’un continent », qu’il a d’abord fallu que cette île-là épouse le monde pour pouvoir devenir elle-même. »

Cabinet de curiosités

De facture plutôt scolaire, l’exposition proposée par le commissaire Aurélien Gaborit a les défauts de ses qualités. Avec l’ambition de brasser tous les sujets ou presque, elle offre la jouissance poétique des cabinets de curiosités mais prend parfois le risque de survoler certains éléments clés des cultures malgaches. Il serait néanmoins fort dommage de bouder son plaisir, pour une simple et bonne raison.

Depuis Ethnographie de Madagascar, exposition présentée au Musée de l’Homme en 1946, aucun panorama de grand ampleur n’avait été consacré aux arts de la Grande Île.

Monde des vivants, monde des morts

Aurélien Gaborit a donc choisi une approche pédagogique fonctionnant comme une introduction à des mondes complexes qui, chacun, pourraient eux-mêmes donner lieu à de futures expositions. Le visiteur commence ainsi par découvrir « Madagascar dans l’espace et dans le temps » (première partie), puis il fait connaissance avec « Le monde des vivants » (deuxième partie) avant d’effleurer « le rapport entre les mondes invisibles et parallèles, et le monde des morts » (troisième partie). Tout du long transparaissent les différentes influences reçues et assimilées par les populations de l’île.

DES SOCIÉTÉS ORIGINALES ET ORGANISÉES EN ROYAUMES HIÉRARCHISÉS

À l’origine, bien entendu, les contacts humains et les mouvements de populations issues des régions les plus proches, l’Afrique, la Péninsule arabique, l’Inde et l’Asie du Sud-Est (Austronésie). Les apports sont variés, les peuples austronésiens emportent avec eux le riz, l’igname et le cocotier entre le Vème et le VIIIème siècle tandis que les peuples africains débarquent avec leurs zébus au Xème siècle. « La riziculture et l’élevage ont considérablement modifié le paysage de Madagascar », explique le commissaire. Mais le paysage n’est pas le seul à être modifié. Un riche métissage culturel et des échanges qui se poursuivent par l’intermédiaire de villes portuaires ouvertes sur les courants de l’Océan indien donnent naissance à des sociétés originales, organisées en royaumes hiérarchisés.

Il n’existe pas de culture endémique et c’est sans doute dans l’exploration de cette imbrication d’influences, d’assimilations, de rejets, de transformations au gré des siècles et des échanges, que réside le principal intérêt de cette exposition introductive. Il en faudra bien d’autres, pour aller plus loin dans le mystère de la création, pour disséquer les résistances culturelles au joug colonial et le maintien des formes traditionnelles du sacré face à l’islam, au christianisme, voire à l’hindouisme.

by Hôtel*** Restaurant gourmand Coco Lodge Majunga

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse email ne sera pas publiée.Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>