The Mahavavy-Kinkony complex, located to the Northwest of Madagascar, is a complex of wetland, in the province of Mahajanga, Boeny region, within the district of Mitsinjo.

The Lake Kinkony is the second Lake in Madagascar with a surface of 14 000 hectares located in the Boeny region.

The Mahavavy Kinkony complex in Mahajanga province
The Mahavavy Kinkony complex in the province of Mahajanga by Hotel * Restaurant gourmet coconut Lodge Majunga.

One wetland (or wetland), name derived from the English term wetland, is an area where the main factor of influence of the biotope and its biocenosis is water. Coastal and marine wetlands are generally distinguished differentiated by the proximity of the sea more than the salinity (the salt lakes may exist at l ’ inland).

The vegetation growing in the wetlands of fresh water is said to helophyte.

According to article 1 of the Ramsar Convention en 1971, «wetlands are areas of Marsh», Fagnes, bogs or natural or artificial waters, permanent or temporary, where l ’ water is stagnant or common, sweet, brackish or salty, including areas of marine water the depth of which at low tide does not exceed six metres". (This definition of international law s ’ imposes on States more than ’ individuals, unless a particular clause specifies the direct effect of the text for these).

In France, According to the ’ article 2 the Water Act of the 3 January 1992, "wet zone means land., exploited or not, usually inundated or soaked d ’ freshwater, salt or brackish permanently or temporary ; the vegetation, When it exists, There is dominated by hygrophilous plants during at least part of the year. ; Wetlands are home in metropolitan France about 25 % biodiversity, but the ecological habitats who is among the most regressed (-67 % in metropolitan France in the xxe century), According to the Ministry of l ’ environment. These wetlands globally continue to deteriorate, according to the ’ Observatory of biodiversity.

The complex is composed of several natural habitats : River, River, Bay and forest are the biotope of the Mahavavy-Kinkony complex. With 300 000 HA, It is part of the largest protected areas in Madagascar. It owes its name to the Mahavavy River and Lake Kinkony. Nine primate species, 30 fish species, 37 herpetofaunes species, 133 bird species have been recorded on the wildlife diversity. From the floristic point of view, It has inventoried 246 known floral species in the complex. The site is best known on avian richness, especially in water birds. It is also a place of winter for migratory birds such as flamingos and various terns.

The Mahavavy-Kinkony complex presents great ornithological diversity, especially in aquatic avifauna. It is home to endemic species of Madagascar :

Malagasy common name French name Scientific name
Vorofaly Rattle d ’ olivier Amaurornis olivieri
Vorombengy Madagascar sacred Ibis Threskiornis bernieri
Fiandrivoditatatra Heron white crab A. idae
Vikoviko Curlew Malagasy Glareola ocularis
Ankoay Bald Eagle of Madagascar Haliaeetus vociferoides
Humblot's Heron Ardea humbloti
Bernier's teal Anas bernieri

Several migratory species choose as the Mahavavy Kinkony complex passage site. 15 species are regularly visiting the area, the best known are :

Malagasy name French name Scientific name
Samaka Flamingo Phoenicopterus ruber
Sotrosogny Spatula d ’ Africa Platalea alba
Leschenault gravelot Charadrius leschenaultia
Mongolian Plover Charadrius mongolus
Great gravelot Charadrius hiaticula
Samby Saunders's tern Sterna saundersii
Samby Diamond Sterne Sterna sumatrana
Samby Sterne traveller Sterna bengalensis

In partnership with Adventure and discovered Madagascar, the hotel Coco Lodge offers including this circuit of exception that it is possible to pair with the Tsingy of Namoroka.

By Hotel * restaurant gourmet coconut Lodge Majunga

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

Le Complexe Mahavavy Kinkony, situé au Nord-Ouest de Madagascar, est un complexe de zone humide, dans la province de Mahajanga, Région de Boeny, au sein du district de Mitsinjo.

Le lac Kinkony est le deuxième lac de Madagascar avec une surface de 14 000 hectares situé dans la région de Boeny.

Le Complexe Mahavavy Kinkony dans la province de Mahajanga
Le Complexe Mahavavy Kinkony dans la province de Mahajanga by Hôtel*** Restaurant gourmand Coco Lodge Majunga.

Une zone humide (ou milieu humide), dénomination dérivant du terme anglais wetland, est une région où le principal facteur d’influence du biotope et de sa biocénose est l’eau. On distingue généralement les zones humides côtières et marines différenciées par la proximité de la mer plus que par la salinité (des lacs salés peuvent exister à l’intérieur des terres).

La végétation poussant dans les zones humides d’eau douce est dite hélophyte.

Selon l’article premier de la Convention de Ramsar en 1971, « les zones humides sont des étendues de marais, de fagnes, de tourbières ou d’eaux naturelles ou artificielles, permanentes ou temporaires, où l’eau est stagnante ou courante, douce, saumâtre ou salée, y compris des étendues d’eau marine dont la profondeur à marée basse n’excède pas six mètres ». (Cette définition de droit international s’impose aux États plus qu’aux particuliers, sauf si une clause particulière précise l’effet direct du texte pour ces derniers).

En France, selon l’article 2 de la loi sur l’eau du 3 janvier 1992, « on entend par zone humide les terrains, exploités ou non, habituellement inondés ou gorgés d’eau douce, salée ou saumâtre de façon permanente ou temporaire ; la végétation, quand elle existe, y est dominée par des plantes hygrophiles pendant au moins une partie de l’année » ; Les zones humides abritent en France métropolitaine environ 25 % de la biodiversité, mais comptent parmi les habitats écologiques qui ont le plus régressé (-67 % en France métropolitaine au xxe siècle), selon le ministère chargé de l’environnement. Ces zones humides continuent globalement à se dégrader selon l’observatoire de la biodiversité.

Le complexe est composé de plusieurs habitats naturels : fleuve, rivière, baie et forêt constituent le biotope du complexe Mahavavy Kinkony. Avec 300 000 ha, il fait partie des plus grandes aires protégées de Madagascar. Il doit son nom au fleuve Mahavavy et au lac Kinkony. Neuf espèces primates, 30 espèces poissons, 37 espèces herpetofaunes, 133 espèces oiseaux ont été répertoriées sur la diversité faunistique. Du point de vue floristique, on a inventorié 246 espèces florales connues réparties dans le complexe. Le site est surtout connu sur sa richesse aviaire, surtout en oiseaux d’eau. Il est également un lieu d’hivernage pour les oiseaux migrateurs tels que les flamands et diverses sternes.

Le complexe Mahavavy Kinkony présente une grande diversité ornithologique, surtout en avifaune aquatique. Il abrite des espèces endémiques de Madagascar :

Nom vernaculaire malgacheNom françaisNom scientifique
VorofalyRâle d’olivierAmaurornis olivieri
VorombengyIbis sacré de MadagascarThreskiornis bernieri
FiandrivoditatatraHéron crabier blancArdeola idae
VikovikoGlaréole MalgacheGlareola ocularis
AnkoayPygargue de MadagascarHaliaeetus vociferoides
Héron de HumblotArdea humbloti
Sarcelle de BernierAnas bernieri

Plusieurs espèces migratrices choisissent comme site de passage le Complexe Mahavavy Kinkony. 15 espèces visitent régulièrement la zone, les plus connues sont :

Nom malgacheNom françaisNom scientifique
SamakaFlamant rosePhoenicopterus ruber
SotrosognySpatule d’AfriquePlatalea alba
Gravelot de LeschenaultCharadrius leschenaultii
Pluvier de MongolCharadrius mongolus
Grand gravelotCharadrius hiaticula
SambySterne de SaundersSterna saundersii
SambySterne de diamantSterna sumatrana
SambySterne VoyageuseSterna bengalensis

En partenariat avec Aventure et découverte Madagascar, l’hôtel Coco Lodge vous propose notamment ce circuit d’exception qu’il est possible de coupler avec les Tsingy de Namoroka.

By Hôtel*** restaurant gourmand Coco Lodge Majunga

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse email ne sera pas publiée.Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>