Avy Litchi Festival E the 19 to the 26 November 2017 in Toamasina (Tamatave)

A tourist day, cultural and sports activities and exhibitions will be part of this new edition of the Festival Avy lychees. Organized by EFOI and ARENAMADA, This eight-day event will be featured the 'King of tropical fruits' and will be a platform for Exchange of large-scale, combining clothing, simplicity and technology.

Festival Avy Letchi E of the 19 to the 26 November 2017 in Toamasina (Tamatave) by Hotel * Restaurant gourmand coconut Lodge Majunga.

Trade, sociocultural, Economic and tourism benefits are also expected by the organizers. From after ago Eliane, EFOI Coordinator and initiator of the Festival Avy lychees, This event boasts an excellent reputation to a wide audience, many more and diverse during the campaign of lychees, which peaks in December.

Indeed, the production of lychees is concentrated in the Atsinanana region. With a production of approximately 100.000 tons, the region exports 20.000 tons to Europe, that represents 70% the European market.

Lychee is a medium-sized tree which can reach a height of 15 to 20 m. The overall silhouette is fairly round, the foliage is dense and well covering.

It has alternate of compound leaves 15 to 25 cm long. They are paripinnate, which means that they are formed of an even number of leaflets and that there is no Terminal position. The leaflets, the number of two to eight per sheet, measure each of 5 to 10 cm in length. The top of the blade is fairly dark green and glazed appearance, below is rather greyish and dull appearance. Before reaching this coloration in full development, the young leaves are copper red then bright green.

The flowers are small (4 to 5 mm in diameter each) and greenish white pinkish white. They are formed of a small disc ovarian and flower in two carpels topped with a Crown of erect stamens, in general six. Fertilization is ensured by insects, mainly by bees. The flowers are grouped in panicles trained reaching 30 cm long.

The trunk is often branched at low height from the ground. The bark is smooth, but the surface of the trunk is very irregular, ribbed or fluted.

The fruit is a small sphere of 3 to 4 cm in diameter, Sometimes a little heart shaped, surrounded by a rather tough envelope of scaly appearance who takes a color pink to red.

The fruits are worn by dangling clusters. Each cluster has a few units to tens of lychees. Each small sphere is usually unique, but as the fruit comes from a flower to two carpels, It is not uncommon to find which of the two is present but atrophied or double lychees to two equal spheres.

After picking, Hull Brown pretty quickly, but the flavor and quality of the fruit continues beyond this Browning.

The inside of the fruit contains a pulpy part, glassy white color, fragrant and juicy, rich in vitamin C, which is actually an aril, an outgrowth produced at the level of the edge of the hilum, nurturing the seed scar.

Although it looks like there, The lychee is not a drupe because the mesocarp, instead of being developed and fleshy, shape as the Middle film of the hull.

At the center of the fruit is the single seed, oblong, Brown glossy, that looks like a small Brown of India lying. This seed is toxic and should not be consumed.

The first historical mention of the culture of litchi date 111 AV. BC. She appeared in the Royal records of Emperor Han Wudi, who had ordered plant of lychees in the Palace, plantations that failed because of too harsh climate of the North of China.

In China, There is a reference to the litchi during the Tang dynasty, VIe century, where he was the favorite fruit of Yang Guifei, favorite of the Emperor Tang Xuanzong. The fruit was growing in the South of China, and it was delivered by the Imperial messengers who took turns night and day to bring back the precious commodity. Most historians think that lychees came from the province of Guangdong, but some believe they came from the province of Sichuan.

The first known description of litchi by a Westerner is that reported by Michał Boym (CA.1612-1659), a Polish Jesuit missionary in China, naturalist and geographer, in his book Flora Sinensis.

The lychee was then described by Pierre Sonnerat (1748-1814) back from his trip to Southeast Asia and China.

It was introduced at the meeting in 1764 by Pierre Poivre and Joseph-François Charpentier of Jilemnice of Palma. On the island, It's called Litchi. Thence, It was planted in Madagascar, who became one of the largest producers of lychees.

En 2016, lychees for Madagascar fundraising campaign has begun the 12 November.

Madagascar mainly exports to the countries of Europe as the France, the Belgium, the Germany, the Spain, the Netherlands. The country also looks to the Gulf countries such as the market in Dubai and Saudi Arabia. En 2015, Madagascar has exported about 18 000 tons of lychees, for 2016 the operators hope to export about 20 000 tons.

In terms of competitiveness, Madagascar faces competition with the meeting, the Island Mauritius and South Africa, which is a great place for the quality of its lychees. Exporters from Madagascar are thus intended to strengthen the quality of its products. Remember that the GEL has already established in 2005, a standard for the standardization of its products.

By Hotel * Restaurant gourmand coconut Lodge Majunga

Booking

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

Festival Avy Letchi E du 19 au 26 novembre 2017 à Toamasina (Tamatave)

Une journée touristique, des animations culturelles et sportives et des expositions seront au programme de cette nouvelle édition du Festival Avy Letchis. Organisé par EFOI et ARENAMADA, cette manifestation de huit jours mettra en vedette le « roi des fruits tropicaux » et sera une plateforme d’échanges de grande envergure, alliant habillement, simplicité et technologie.

Festival Avy Letchi E du 19 au 26 novembre 2017 à Toamasina (Tamatave) by Hôtel*** Restaurant gourmand Coco Lodge Majunga.

Des échanges commerciaux, socioculturels, des retombées économiques et touristiques sont également escomptés par les organisateurs. D’après Eliane Andrianjatovo, coordinatrice d’EFOI et initiatrice du Festival Avy Letchis, cet événement bénéficie d’une excellente notoriété auprès d’un large public, encore plus nombreux et d’horizons divers durant la campagne de letchis, qui bat son plein au mois de décembre.

En effet, la production de letchis est surtout concentrée dans la région Atsinanana. Avec une production d’environ 100.000 tonnes, cette région exporte 20.000 tonnes vers l’Europe, ce qui représente 70% du marché européen.

Le litchi est un arbre de taille moyenne qui peut atteindre une hauteur de 15 à 20 m. La silhouette générale est assez ronde, le feuillage est dense et bien couvrant.

Il possède des feuilles composées alternes de 15 à 25 cm de long. Elles sont paripennées, ce qui signifie qu’elles sont formées d’un nombre pair de folioles et qu’il n’y en a pas en position terminale. Les folioles, au nombre de deux à huit par feuille, mesurent chacune de 5 à 10 cm de longueur. Le dessus du limbe est d’un vert assez foncé et d’aspect vernissé, le dessous est plutôt grisâtre et d’aspect mat. Avant d’atteindre cette coloration à plein développement, les jeunes feuilles présentent une teinte rouge cuivré brillant puis vert tendre.

Les fleurs sont de petite taille (4 à 5 mm de diamètre chacune) et de couleur blanc rosâtre à blanc verdâtre. Elles sont formées d’un petit disque ovarien et nectarifère à deux carpelles surmontés d’une couronne d’étamines dressées, en général au nombre de six. La fécondation est assurée par les insectes, principalement par les abeilles. Les fleurs sont groupées en panicules dressés pouvant atteindre 30 cm de long.

Le tronc est souvent ramifié à faible hauteur du sol. L’écorce est lisse mais la surface du tronc est très irrégulière, côtelée ou cannelée.

Le fruit est une petite sphère de 3 à 4 cm de diamètre, parfois un peu en forme de cœur, entourée d’une enveloppe assez coriace d’aspect écailleux qui prend une couleur rose à rouge à maturité.

Les fruits sont portés par des grappes pendantes. Chaque grappe compte de quelques unités à quelques dizaines de litchis. Chaque petite sphère est généralement unique, mais comme le fruit provient d’une fleur à deux carpelles, il arrive assez souvent de trouver des litchis doubles à deux sphères égales ou dont l’une des deux est présente mais atrophiée.

Après cueillette, la coque brunit assez rapidement mais la saveur et la qualité du fruit se maintiennent au-delà de ce brunissement.

L’intérieur du fruit contient une partie pulpeuse, de couleur blanc vitreux, parfumée et juteuse, riche en vitamine C, qui est en fait un arille, une excroissance produite au niveau de la bordure du hile, la cicatrice nourricière de la graine.

Bien qu’il y ressemble, le litchi n’est donc pas une drupe car le mésocarpe, au lieu d’être développé et charnu, ne forme que la mince pellicule médiane de la coque.

Au centre du fruit se trouve la graine unique, de forme oblongue, de couleur brun vernissé, qui ressemble à un petit marron d’Inde allongé. Cette graine est toxique et ne doit pas être consommée.

La première mention historique de la culture du litchi date de 111 av. J.-C. Elle apparaît dans les registres royaux de l’empereur Han Wudi qui avait ordonné de planter des litchis dans l’enceinte du palais, plantations qui échouèrent en raison du climat trop rigoureux du nord de la Chine.

En Chine, on trouve une référence au litchi pendant la dynastie Tang, au vie siècle, où il était le fruit préféré de Yang Guifei, favorite de l’empereur Tang Xuanzong. Le fruit ne poussait que dans le sud de la Chine, et il était livré par les messagers impériaux qui se relayaient nuit et jour pour rapporter la précieuse denrée. La plupart des historiens pensent que les litchis venaient de l’actuelle province de Guangdong mais certains pensent qu’ils provenaient de l’actuelle province du Sichuan.

La première description connue du litchi par un occidental est celle rapportée par Michał Boym (ca.1612–1659), un jésuite polonais missionnaire en Chine, naturaliste et géographe, dans son ouvrage Flora Sinensis.

Le litchi a été ensuite décrit par Pierre Sonnerat (1748-1814) au retour de son voyage en Asie du Sud-Est et en Chine.

Il a été introduit à La Réunion en 1764 par Pierre Poivre et Joseph-François Charpentier de Cossigny de Palma. Sur l’île, on l’appelle letchi. De là, il fut planté à Madagascar, qui est devenu un des plus grands producteurs de litchis.

En 2016, la campagne de collecte de litchis pour Madagascar a commencé le 12 novembre.

Madagascar exporte principalement vers les pays d’Europe comme la France, la Belgique, l’Allemagne, l’Espagne, les Pays-Bas. Le pays se tourne également vers les pays du Golfe tel le marché de Dubaï et l’Arabie Saoudite. En 2015, Madagascar a exporté environ 18 000 tonnes de litchis, pour 2016 les opérateurs espèrent exporter environ 20 000 tonnes.

En termes de compétitivité, Madagascar fait face à la concurrence avec La Réunion, l’île Maurice et l’Afrique du Sud qui tient une grande place pour la qualité de ses litchis. Les exportateurs de Madagascar visent ainsi à renforcer la qualité de ses produits. Rappelons que le GEL a déjà établi en 2005, une norme pour la standardisation de ses produits.

By Hôtel*** Restaurant gourmand Coco Lodge Majunga

Réservation

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse email ne sera pas publiée.Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>