fbpx

World Bank : 490 USD million for post-Covid recovery

World Bank : 490 USD million for post-Covid recovery

World Bank : 490 USD million for post-Covid recovery

World Bank : 490 USD million for post-Covid recovery. Four financing agreements for the realization of four large-scale projects initiated by the Malagasy government.

According to information published by Midi Madagascar, the signing of the release of this funding took place yesterday at the State Palace of Iavoloha.

Support from 490 $ million

"We are delighted with the excellent quality of our partnership with Madagascar, especially since it brings palpable results that affect the 26 millions of Malagasy ». This is the statement of the Representative of the World Bank in Madagascar, Marie-Chantal Uwanyiligira.

A way for her to affirm that the cooperation between the Big Island and the Bretton Woods Institution is in good shape. The signing comes just days after President Andry Rajoelina met with World Bank Managing Director, Axel Van Trotsenburg which took place in Abidjan, on the margins of the IDA-20 Summit.

The four agreements signed yesterday between Economy and Finance Minister Richard Randriamandrato and World Bank Representative Marie-Chantal Uwanyiligira concern financial support totalling 490 $ million. It is part of the World Bank's overall commitment of $1.1 billion., for the fiscal year 2021 (from 1 July 2020 to the 30 June 2021). According to Marie-Chantal Uwanyiligira, the release of this funding was approved last June by the Board of Directors of the World Bank.

Four projects

This budget of 490 $ millions will be used to finance four structuring projects, whose :

  • 100 millions of dollars for vaccine acquisition against Covid-19 and the strengthening of the health system ;
  • 150 millions of dollars to fund an economic transformation project for inclusive growth to support the post-Covid recovery of small and medium-sized enterprises, as well as entrepreneurs in the fields of Tourism, theagribusiness and the digital at the level of the Diana regions, Anosy, Atsimo Andrefana, Analamanga and Saint Mary ;
  • 200 millions of dollars for rehabilitation, maintenance and improvement of the road network in Madagascar ;
  • and finally 40 USD million in additional funding to support innovative sustainable agriculture projects. In his speech, President Andry Rajoelina announced that part of this funding will be used to strengthen the fight against the "kere" in the South of Madagascar. But he also talked about the periodic maintenance of 1 200 km of roads. The Head of State notably cited the RN2, RN7, RN4, RN34, RNT3A, RN5A, RN30, RN30A, RN57, RN12, RN45 and THE RN25. According to him, 20% of the road network will benefit from a repair.

Guaranteeing sustained and sustainable growth

The President of the Republic also took the opportunity to draw everyone's attention to the importance of political stability which will, According to his account, « ... is the guarantor of sustained and sustainable growth".

Priorities

His side, Marie-Chantal Uwanyiligira said the World Bank supports Madagascar in its priorities. Facing the impacts of the health crisis, the World Bank supports actions that have a direct impact on the socio-economic life of the population. Medium- and long-term actions.

Regarding the Covid-19 vaccine, World Bank to strengthen access to vaccines for the African continent. Currently, the vaccination rate is only 1% in Africa. An inconceivable statistic, according to the Representative of the World Bank. The goal is to vaccinate 40% of the African population at the end of this year and 60% by mid-2022.

As for Madagascar, the objective set is to 50,5% of adults vaccinated in 2022. It also suggested that the rehabilitation work on the RN44 will be completed within the allotted time..

Davis R – Midi-Madagasikara

By #CocoLodgeMajunga

Reminder, we're both :

  • One Hotel★★★ with 18 spacious comfortable rooms,
  • One gourmet restaurant with a beautiful wine cellar, whiskies, rums and champagnes with a capacity of 60 Covered, offering Malagasy cuisine, French, Lebanese and seafood specialties,
  • Un bar piscine with cocktails, "tsakitsaky", pancakes and waffles available at all hours,
  • One organizer of events and conferences with 3 meeting rooms that can accommodate up to 90 people. In addition, we can receive themed lunch/dinner, engagement, wedding, anniversary, … Even a bachelorette party, or a marriage proposal, …
  • A travel and tourism services company (License C),
  • One tour operator (B license),
  • A 4×4 rental company and quads (all geo-located with valid liability insurance) and with graduate drivers guide. They can insure your transfers to all Madagascar. For example, from Antananarivo airport to Majunga, but also from Nosy Be to Majunga.
1

Leave a comment!

Registration

Forgotten password?

fbpx

Banque mondiale : 490 millions USD pour la relance post-Covid

Banque mondiale : 490 millions USD pour la relance post-Covid

Banque mondiale : 490 millions USD pour la relance post-Covid

Banque mondiale : 490 millions USD pour la relance post-Covid. Quatre accords de financement pour la réalisation de quatre projets d’envergure initiés par le gouvernement malagasy.

Selon les informations publiées par Midi Madagascar, la signature du déblocage de ce financement a eu lieu hier au Palais d’Etat d’Iavoloha.

Soutien de 490 millions de dollars

« Nous nous réjouissons de l’excellente qualité de notre partenariat avec Madagascar, surtout que celui-ci apporte des résultats palpables qui touchent les 26 millions de Malgaches ». C’est la déclaration de la Représentante de la Banque mondiale à Madagascar, Marie-Chantal Uwanyiligira.

Une manière pour elle d’affirmer que la coopération entre la Grande Île et l’Institution de Bretton Woods est au beau fixe. Cette signature survient quelques jours seulement après la rencontre entre le président Andry Rajoelina et le Directeur général des opérations auprès de la Banque mondiale, Axel Van Trotsenburg qui a eu lieu à Abidjan, en marge du Sommet IDA-20.

Les quatre accords signés hier entre le ministre de l’Economie et des Finances Richard Randriamandrato et la Représentante de la Banque mondiale Marie-Chantal Uwanyiligira concernent un soutien financier d’un montant total de 490 millions de dollars. Il ’inscrit dans le cadre de l’engagement global d’1,1 milliard de dollars débloqué par la Banque mondiale, au titre de l’année fiscale 2021 (allant du 1er juillet 2020 au 30 juin 2021). Selon Marie-Chantal Uwanyiligira, le déblocage de ce financement a été approuvé au mois de juin dernier par le Conseil d’administration de la Banque mondiale.

Quatre projets

Ce budget de 490 millions de dollars servira à financer quatre projets structurants, dont :

  • 100 millions de dollars pour l’acquisition de vaccins contre la Covid-19 et au renforcement du système de santé ;
  • 150 millions de dollars pour financer un projet de transformation économique pour la croissance inclusive en vue d’appuyer la relance après-Covid des petites et moyennes entreprises, ainsi que des entrepreneurs dans les domaines du tourisme, l’agri-business et le numérique au niveau des régions Diana, Anosy, Atsimo Andrefana, Analamanga et Sainte Marie ;
  • 200 millions de dollars pour la réhabilitation, la maintenance et l’amélioration du réseau routier à Madagascar ;
  • et enfin 40 millions USD de fonds additionnels pour soutenir des projets innovants d’agriculture durable. Dans son discours, le président Andry Rajoelina a annoncé qu’une partie de ce financement sera utilisée pour renforcer la lutte contre le “kere” dans le Sud de Madagascar. Mais il a aussi parlé de l’entretien périodique de 1 200 km de routes. Le Chef de l’Etat a notamment cité la RN2, RN7, RN4, RN34, RNT3A, RN5A, RN30, RN30A, RN57, RN12, RN45 et la RN25. Selon ses dires, 20% du réseau routier vont bénéficier d’une réfection.

Garant d’une croissance soutenue et durable

Le Président de la République a aussi profité de cette occasion pour attirer l’attention de tout un chacun sur l’importance d’une stabilité politique qui, selon ses dires, « … est le garant d’une croissance soutenue et durable ».

Priorités

De son côté, Marie-Chantal Uwanyiligira a affirmé que la Banque mondiale accompagne Madagascar dans ses priorités. Face aux impacts de la crise sanitaire, la Banque mondiale soutient les actions qui ont des impacts directs sur la vie socioéconomique de la population. Des actions à moyen et à long termes.

En ce qui concerne le vaccin contre la Covid-19, la Banque mondiale entend renforcer l’accès aux vaccins pour le continent africain. Actuellement, le taux de vaccination est seulement de 1% en Afrique. Une statistique inconcevable, selon la Représentante de la Banque mondiale. L’objectif est de vacciner 40% de la population africaine à la fin de cette année et 60% d’ici mi-2022.

Pour ce qui est de Madagascar, l’objectif fixé est de 50,5% d’adultes vaccinés en 2022. Elle a aussi laissé entendre que les travaux de réhabilitation de la RN44 seront terminés dans le délai imparti.

Davis R – Midi-Madagasikara

By #CocoLodgeMajunga

Pour rappel, nous sommes à la fois :

  • Un hôtel★★★ avec 18 chambres spacieuses tout confort,
  • Un restaurant gourmand avec une très belle cave à vins, whiskys, rhums et champagnes d’une capacité de 60 couverts, proposant une cuisine Malagasy, Française, Libanaise et des spécialités de fruits de mer,
  • Un bar piscine avec des cocktails, des « tsakitsaky », des crêpes et des gaufres disponibles à toute heure,
  • Un organisateur d’événements et de conférences avec 3 salles de réunion pouvant recevoir jusqu’à 90 personnes. De plus, nous pouvons recevoir des déjeuner/dîner à thème, fiançailles, mariage, anniversaire, … Même un enterrement de vie de jeune fille/garçon, ou une demande en mariage, …
  • Une entreprise de voyages et de prestations touristiques (Licence C),
  • Un tour opérateur (licence B),
  • Un loueur de 4×4 et quads (tous géo localisés avec assurance responsabilité civile valide) et avec chauffeurs guide diplômés. Ils peuvent assurer vos transferts dans tous Madagascar. Par exemple depuis l’aéroport d’Antananarivo jusqu’à Majunga, mais aussi de Nosy Be à Majunga.
1

Laisse un commentaire!

Inscription

Mot de passe oublié?