Approval of the framework Convention of the UNWTO Tourism Ethics : This is a historic decision !

Approval of the framework Convention of the UNWTO Tourism Ethics
Approval of the framework Convention of the UNWTO ethics of tourism by Hotel * Restaurant gourmet coconut Lodge Majunga.

The Member States of the World Tourism Organization (UNWTO) approved yesterday a historical document, the framework Convention of the UNWTO Tourism Ethics. Adopted at the twenty-second session of the General Assembly of the UNWTO, This Convention becomes the Code of ethics for tourism in an international convention, the first in the life of the Organization.

The Convention, which refers to the responsibilities of all stakeholders towards the development of a sustainable tourism, a framework for specifying a modus operandi ethical and sustainable, which includes the right to tourism, freedom of movement of tourists and the rights of workers and professionals.

"In an interconnected world where the business of tourism volume is comparable., When it does not exceed, as oil exports, food or automobiles, It is important to have a legal framework to ensure that growth will be managed in a responsible and sustainable. Tourism is a force that must be exploited to the benefit of all,"said the President of the World Committee on Tourism Ethics, Pascal Lamy.

Pascal Lamy, Chairman of the Committee since 2013, and his colleagues, contributed to the presentation of the Convention on the ethics of tourism in the twenty-second General Assembly of the UNWTO.

The Code conversion, adopted in 1999, into a full-fledged Convention represents an important step to ensure that the expansion of tourism will be in respect of sustainable development, social problems, development of local communities and a better understanding between cultures without neglecting the aspects related to the world of work.

"We are living a historic moment for the WTO" said the Secretary general of the UNWTO, Taleb Rifai, before adding : "The approval of the Convention is a great achievement of the international year of sustainable tourism for development that we celebrate in." 2017. She also launched a clear signal showing that countries are committed to making tourism a force at the service of a better future for all. It strengthens the institutional linkages of UNWTO at within the United Nations system".

The UNWTO General Assembly was sponsored by Union Pay International and CNN.

The Global Code of ethics for tourism

Fundamental frame of reference for responsible and sustainable tourism, the Global Code of ethics for tourism is a comprehensive set of principles meant to guide the main actors of the tourism development. The code, which is addressed both to public authorities and professionals in the sector trips as communities and tourists, aims to contribute to maximizing the benefits of tourism while limiting to a minimum any potentially negative impact on the environment, cultural heritage and companies all over the world.

The code was adopted in 1999 by the General Assembly of the World Tourism Organization. Recognising two years later, United Nations expressly encouraged the WTO to promote the effective application of its provisions in practice. The code is not legally binding, but he nevertheless plans control of voluntary application through the role entrusted to the World Committee on Tourism Ethics, which may be submitted by stakeholders of issues related to the application and interpretation of the document.

The ten principles of the code cover widely the economic components, social, cultural and environmental travel and tourism :

Article 1 : Tourism's contribution to the understanding and mutual respect between men and companies
Article 2 : Tourism, vector of individual and collective fulfillment
Article 3 : Tourism, factor of sustainable development
Article 4 : Tourism, user of the cultural heritage of mankind and contributor to its enhancement
Article 5 : Tourism, beneficial activity for host communities and countries
Article 6 : Obligations of stakeholders in tourism development
Article 7 : Right to tourism
Article 8 : Freedom of tourist travel
Article 9 : Rights of workers and entrepreneurs in the tourism industry
Article 10 : Implementation of the principles of the Global Code of ethics for tourism

by Hotel * Restaurant gourmand coconut Lodge Majunga.

Booking

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

Approbation de la Convention Cadre de l’OMT relative à l’éthique du tourisme : c’est une décision historique !

Approbation de la Convention Cadre de l’OMT relative à l’éthique du tourisme
Approbation de la Convention Cadre de l’OMT relative à l’éthique du tourisme by Hôtel*** Restaurant gourmand Coco Lodge Majunga.

Les États membres de l’Organisation mondiale du tourisme (OMT) ont approuvé hier un document historique, la Convention-cadre de l’OMT relative à l’éthique du tourisme. Adoptée à la vingt-deuxième session de l’Assemblée générale de l’OMT, cette Convention transforme le Code d’éthique du tourisme en une convention internationale, la première dans la vie de l’Organisation.

La Convention, qui se réfère aux responsabilités de toutes les parties prenantes vis-à-vis du développement d’un tourisme durable, constitue un cadre spécifiant un modus operandi éthique et durable qui comprend le droit au tourisme, la liberté de mouvement des touristes et les droits des salariés et des professionnels. 

« Dans un monde interconnecté où le volume d’affaires du tourisme est comparable, lorsqu’il ne le dépasse pas, à celui des exportations de pétrole, de produits alimentaires ou d’automobiles, il est important de disposer d’un cadre juridique pour s’assurer que la croissance sera gérée de façon responsable et pérenne. Le tourisme est une force qui doit être exploitée au bénéfice de tous » a affirmé le Président du Comité mondial d’éthique du tourisme, Pascal Lamy.

Pascal Lamy, Président dudit Comité depuis 2013, et ses collègues, ont largement contribué à la présentation de la Convention relative à l’éthique du tourisme à la vingt-deuxième Assemblée générale de l’OMT.

La conversion du Code, adopté en 1999, en une Convention à part entière représente une étape importante en vue de garantir que l’expansion du tourisme se fera dans le plus grand respect du développement durable, des problèmes sociaux, de l’épanouissement des communautés locales et d’une meilleure compréhension entre les cultures sans négliger les aspects relatifs au monde du travail.

« Nous vivons un moment historique pour l’OMT » a affirmé le Secrétaire général de l’OMT, Taleb Rifai, avant d’ajouter : « L’approbation de la Convention est un grand aboutissement de l’Année internationale du tourisme durable pour le développement que nous célébrons en 2017. Elle lance aussi un signal sans équivoque montrant que les pays sont engagés à faire du tourisme une force au service d’un meilleur avenir pour tous. Elle renforce les liens institutionnels de l’OMT au sein du système des Nations Unies ».

L’Assemblée générale de l’OMT était parrainée par Union Pay International et CNN.

Le Code mondial d’éthique du tourisme

Cadre de référence fondamental pour le tourisme responsable et durable, le Code mondial d’éthique du tourisme est un ensemble complet de principes destinés à guider les principaux acteurs du développement touristique. Le code, qui s’adresse aussi bien aux autorités publiques et aux professionnels du secteur des voyages qu’aux communautés et aux touristes, vise à contribuer à maximiser les effets bénéfiques du tourisme tout en limitant à un minimum toute incidence potentiellement négative sur l’environnement, le patrimoine culturel et les sociétés partout dans le monde.

Le code a été adopté en 1999 par l’Assemblée générale de l’Organisation mondiale du tourisme. En le reconnaissant deux ans plus tard, les Nations Unies encourageaient expressément l’OMT à promouvoir l’application effective de ses dispositions dans la pratique. Le code n’est pas juridiquement contraignant, mais il prévoit néanmoins unmécanisme d’application volontaire à travers le rôle confié au Comité mondial d’éthique du tourisme, qui peut être saisi par les parties prenantes de questions liées à l’application et à l’interprétation du document.

Les dix principes énoncés dans le code couvrent largement les composantes économiques, sociales, culturelles et environnementales des voyages et du tourisme :

Article 1 : Contribution du tourisme à la compréhension et au respect mutuels entre hommes et sociétés
Article 2 : Le tourisme, vecteur d’épanouissement individuel et collectif
Article 3 : Le tourisme, facteur de développement durable
Article 4 : Le tourisme, utilisateur du patrimoine culturel de l’humanité et élément contribuant à son enrichissement
Article 5 : Le tourisme, activité bénéfique pour les pays et communautés d’accueil
Article 6 : Obligations des acteurs du développement touristique
Article 7 : Droit au tourisme
Article 8 : Liberté des déplacements touristiques
Article 9 : Droits des travailleurs et des entrepreneurs de l’industrie touristique
Article 10 : Mise en œuvre des principes du Code mondial d’éthique du tourisme

by Hôtel*** Restaurant gourmand Coco Lodge Majunga.

Réservation

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse email ne sera pas publiée.Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>