Lemurs are undoubtedly the most famous animals of Madagascar. Considered as the ancestors of monkeys, more exactly as of distant cousins.

The families of lemurs and has 36 species, of which the vast majority is on the Red Island.

In contrast to Africa where the lemurs have disappeared against the competition with other primates, those of Madagascar could evolve peacefully on this large remote island. It is believed that lemurs first arrived in Madagascar on floating logs, natural disasters. These lemurs who colonised the island were very primitive animals. They were similar to the smaller current lemur : mouse lemurs, the size of a mouse. The lemurs lived happily until the arrival of the man in 600 a.d.. Therefore, the destruction of their Habitat and their intensive hunting made disappear forever several species.

Now, Madagascar has 24 species of lemurs, with the discovery of three new species by Malagasy scientists, German and American.

Microcebus ganzhorni, microcebus manitatra and microcebus Boraha. Three new species of mouse lemurs, small endemic nocturnal lemurs of Madagascar, come to be discovered and described recently by scientists at the University of Antananarivo, German Centre of Primatology (DPZ or Deutsches Primatenzentrum), the University of Kentucky and the Duke Lemur Center American (DLC). This, After several scientific expeditions and the use of new methods of genetic identification.

Two of the three new species have been discovered in southeastern Madagascar, While the third, on the island of Sainte Marie. The first, called microcebus ganzhorni (Mouse Lemur Ganzhorn) bears the name of the Pr. Jörg Ganzhorn, ecologist from the University of Hamburg, which initiates the DPZ research activities in Madagascar. He has worked for decades in research on lemur and for their protection. The second species was named microcebus manitatra to symbolize the expansion of a subset of mouse lemurs from Western Madagascar. The third species named microcebus Boraha, a course was so named in reference to the island of Sainte Marie, its discovery, This island named in Malagasy Nosy Boraha.

Distinction.
The differentiation of the species of mouse lemurs remains a difficult exercise, their physical characteristics, such fur or even their beady eyes making it virtually impossible to their distinction to the naked eye. Also scientists have used new methods of genetic identification advanced. Furthermore, the analysis confirmed the status of 21 previously described species of mouse lemurs. It should be remembered that past descriptions of new species of lemurs date back to about three years. Among them, the gray Mouse Lemur's Madame Berthe, weighing barely 30 grams and recognized as the smallest primate in the world. This mouse lemur was discovered by scientists from the DPZ en 1993 in the Kirindy forest.

by Hotel * Restaurant gourmand Majunga.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

Les lémuriens sont incontestablement les animaux les plus célèbres de Madagascar. On les considère comme les ancêtres des singes, plus exactement comme de lointains cousins.

La famille des lémuriens comporte 36 espèces dont la grande majorité ne se trouve que sur l’Ile Rouge.

A la différence de l’Afrique où les lémuriens ont disparu face à la compétition avec les autres primates, ceux de Madagascar ont pu évoluer en toute quiétude sur cette grande île éloignée. On pense que les premiers lémuriens sont arrivés à Madagascar sur des troncs flottants, à la suite de catastrophes naturelles. Ces lémuriens qui colonisèrent l’île étaient des animaux très primitifs. Ils étaient semblables aux plus petits lémuriens actuels : les Microcèbes, de la taille d’une souris. Les lémuriens vécurent heureux jusqu’à l’arrivée de l’homme en 600 après J.C. Dès lors, la destruction de leur biotope et leur chasse intensive ont fait disparaître à tout jamais plusieurs espèces.

Désormais, Madagascar compte 24 espèces de lémuriens connues, avec la découverte de trois nouvelles espèces par des scientifiques malgaches, allemands et américains.

Microcebus ganzhorni, microcebus manitatra et microcebus Boraha. Trois nouvelles espèces de microcèbes, petits lémuriens nocturnes endémiques de Madagascar, viennent d’être découvertes et décrites récemment par des scientifiques de l’Université d’Antananarivo, du Centre allemand de Primatologie (DPZ ou Deutsches Primatenzentrum), de l’Université du Kentucky et de l’American Duke Lemur Center (DLC). Ce, après plusieurs expéditions scientifiques et le recours à de nouvelles méthodes d’identification génétique.

Deux des trois nouvelles espèces ont été découvertes dans le Sud-Est de Madagascar, tandis que le troisième, sur l’île Sainte-Marie. La première, baptisée microcebus ganzhorni (microcèbe de Ganzhorn) porte le nom du Pr. Jörg Ganzhorn, écologue de l’université de Hambourg qui initie les activités de recherche du DPZ à Madagascar. Il a travaillé durant des décennies dans la recherche sur les lémuriens et pour leur protection. La seconde espèce a été baptisée microcebus manitatra pour symboliser l’expansion d’un sous-groupe de microcèbes provenant de l’Ouest de Madagascar. La troisième espèce nommée microcebus Boraha, a évidemment été ainsi nommée en référence à l’île Sainte-Marie, lieu de sa découverte, cette île se nommant en malgache Nosy Boraha.

Distinction.
La différenciation des espèces de microcèbes reste un exercice difficile, leurs caractéristiques physiques, telle leur fourrure ou encore leurs yeux globuleux rendant pratiquement impossible leur distinction à l’œil nu. Aussi les scientifiques ont-ils recours à de nouvelles méthodes d’identification génétiques avancées. Par ailleurs, l’analyse a confirmé le statut des 21 espèces de microcèbes décrites antérieurement. Rappelons que les dernières descriptions de nouvelles espèces de lémuriens remontent à environ trois ans. Parmi elles, le microcèbe de Madame Berthe, pesant à peine 30 grammes et reconnu comme étant le plus petit primate au monde. Ce microcèbe a été découvert par les scientifiques du DPZ en 1993 dans la forêt de Kirindy.

by Hôtel*** Restaurant gourmand Majunga.

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse email ne sera pas publiée.Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>